Welcome to the cottage
of La Charrette bleue

This eco-friendly house can accomodate between 4 to 6 visitors. Located in the quiet Normandy countryside, the Charrette Bleue is ideally situated for spending time in nature and a relaxing holiday with family members, friends, this either for a long week-end, a full week, or even more if you wish to. Before, the place used to be a cow shed  and the blue cart (charrette) was used to carry the hay into the loft. Today, this old farm building has been tastefully converted into a sweet and cosy cottage by  skilled eco workers who have respected the spirit of the place and added a modern touch mixed with authentic and warm comfort

About the cottage

Rural location, yet closed to the small town of Aunay-sur-Odon (1.5 km). There, you will find  all types of local amenities including a public hospital. With a surface of 95 square meters, the cottage has been new fully equipped and includes a fitted kitchen, a living room, 2 bedrooms and a bathroom, plus a 300 square meters back garden

About the eco renovation process

The eco renovation project started in 2010 and  ended five years later. During all these years, we followed the same simple guiding line which in other words consisted  in the reproduction of old building processes, the use of local natural materials with skilled workers. The accomodation and decoration of the cottage have been made with furniture and accessories which are issued as much as possible from a buying local channel either in Normandy or in France

Places of interest in the local area

A central location along with a rural setting, at one hour drive from  Mont-Saint-Michel and the D-Day beaches, at half an hour from the cities of Caen and Bayeux (Tapestry), at 20 mins drive from the Suisse Normande. You can enjoy the nearby beaches and the countryside, doing a sport or a cultural activity, or why not choose both!

An old  cowshed and a hayloft retrofitted  into an eco house

The choice of environmentally-sourced materials  and the use of renewable energies
You will feel good in a genuine, cosy and healthy atmosphere

Discovering  the farmers  and craftsmen on the Route des Traditions

You wish to go and meet the organic farmers and craftsmen based on the  Route des Traditions. Then, you will enjoy tasting their organic food products or local delicatessen and gastronomic delights


Walking, riding a horse or a bicycle

With the  central location of the cottage, you are very close to walking paths, horseriding or bicycle roads, you will be able to practice all kinds of sports activities

Digital and broadcast unplugging! Only the birds will wake you up!

Looking forward to having an anti-stress break and logging off the internet for a couple of days? Then here you will rest and relax in contact with nature, and live a true detox experience


Gîte écologique paisible, au milieu du bocage normand

Bienvenue à l’écogîte
de la Charrette bleue

Au calme dans la campagne normande, cet écogîte de 4 à 6 couchages vous accueille pour un séjour détente et nature, en famille ou entre amis, pour un week-end, une semaine, ou plus si affinité. A l’origine, la Charrette bleue servait à charger le foin dans le grenier au dessus de l’étable. Aujourd’hui, ces espaces ont été transformés en habitation par des éco-artisans qui ont su respecter l’histoire et l’âme de la bâtisse, tout en y apportant une touche de modernité et de confort chaleureux et authentique

Découvrir tous les détails sur le gîte

L’écogîte est situé à 1.5 km du bourg d’Aunay-sur-Odon où vous trouverez tous les commerces de proximité. D’une superficie de 95 m², il est entièrement équipé à neuf et comprend une cuisine aménagée, un salon séjour, 2 chambres et une salle de bains, avec un jardin de 300 m² entièrement clos

Tout savoir sur le processus d’éco-conception

Le projet  a démarré en 2010 et, durant les cinq années qu’a duré le  chantier d’éco-rénovation, il  a suivi une ligne directrice simple, à savoir la reproduction de techniques de construction anciennes,  l’utilisation autant que faire ce peut de matériaux naturels locaux, l’appel à des artisans implantés sur le territoire et le choix d’objets ou de meubles fabriqués en circuits courts

Et autour du gîte?

A une heure du Mont Saint-Michel et des plages du débarquement, à 30 mn’ de Caen et de Bayeux, à 20 mn’ de la Suisse normande, une situation géographique centrale pour choisir entre la mer ou la campagne, entre une activité culturelle ou sportive, ou pourquoi pas les deux à la fois!

Une ancienne étable et un grenier à foin transformés en écogîte

Le choix de matériaux bio-sourcés  et l’utilisation d’énergies renouvelables. Vous vous  sentirez bien dans un environnement sain, authentique et chaleureux, au cœur de la Normandie

Une découverte des paysans et artisans  de la Route des Traditions

Dans une démarche d’écotourisme, vous souhaitez allez à la rencontre des paysans du bocage normand pour découvrir leur activité en bio ou agriculture raisonnée et déguster des produits gastronomiques locaux

 

 

p7100006

A pied, à cheval, en vélo, profitez d’un cadre naturel

 

La localisation centrale de l’écogîte, à proximité des chemins de randonnée pédestre, équestre et VTC, vous permettra de pratiquer l’activité sportive qu’il vous plaira

Déconnexion numérique et audiovisuelle assurée ! Vous ne serez dérangé que par les oiseaux !

Vous avez envie de faire une pause anti-stress et detox pour quelques jours. Déconnectez-vous d’internet pour respirer et prendre le temps de vous ressourcer au contact de la nature

Pour vivre heureux, vivez déconnecté!

p7100012